When was the last time you actually read the Declaration of Independence? Including the FIRST paragraph? Do you know the document does not begin with, “We hold these truths to be self evident…”? There is a preceding paragraph without which the document losing significant meaning.

“When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Natures God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.”

Read the paragraph one more time and think reflectively after each beat. It is very deep and very relevant to the current status of our government. During the elections it became quite clear to me that the outcome of the election was of little consequence.

My fresh perspective on this excerpt is this: Perhaps it is time that our society take note of Thomas Jefferson’s intent and we take stand against what has become a puppet show. Perhaps if we band together against the media controlled figure heads and demand accountability for the decisions made with backroom pork slid in to appease this that or the other high power people, then quite possibly we won’t need China to bail out anyone. Maybe, just maybe, we can stand again on our own two feet and re-establish this nation as the power house our forefathers fought so dearly to make it become.

To that end, and because I believe the change starts with me, this is where I start. This is my Declaration of Independence signed again today, December 31, 2008:

I choose to be happy and take responsibility for my happiness, I choose what happens next and hold no one else captive by that choice, I will endeavor to release my fears and I will no longer allow the decisions made by others to dictate my life, instead I will choose my path taken in reaction to his or her decision and will feel no remorse for what my choice causes anyone other than myself or my child.

